Ear Infections are Evil

Standard

My poor, poor baby.  She has had it tough for the last 3 weeks.  She has had a double ear infection that won’t let up.  First the medication wasn’t strong enough…the next one was too strong and upset her stomach to the point that I thought she had the stomach flu because I did (oh yes!).  It turns out her body was rejecting the second antibiotic.

I was worried that she was becoming dehydrated so I took her to the ER.  They said she had a touch of dehydration but nothing to worry about.  She received 2 shots of antibiotics to get it into her system and today she started on her 3rd antibiotic…let’s hope it does the trick.  Yesterday she developed a fierce appetite and thirst which she hadn’t had in days – to my great relief!

And now the whammy.  I looked away for a second and she fell off the bed yesterday.  I felt like the lowest form of crap around.  She fell on her side and rolled and hit her head on the bed post.  I almost caught  her too.  My poor baby.  She cried briefly and then started laughing at the kiddie shows on t.v.  I called her doctor and they gave me signts to look for.  I called my mom and she told me to put ice on her and to keep an eye on her.  I called my husband and felt horrible as I told him.  He told me it was bound to happen to one of us and not to worry.  That’s when I really felt bad and cried for 10 minutes.  When I dropped her off at daycare this morning, I let the owner know so that they could keep a close eye on her.

“Is this the first time she fell?  At 8 months?  That’s awesome.  I dropped mine at 2 months.”

I felt better.

About Jessica Emilia

Mother, wife, grief survivor, dancer, yogi, feminine, baker, cook, lover, fighter, perfectly imperfect, optimistic, pessimistic, reader, writer, funny, sarcastic, compassionate, emphatic, sympatheric, HR Pro, anxious, confident, supernatural, hocus-pocus, friend, daughter and momma again...

4 responses »

  1. Poor things!!!!! I hope you both feel better soon. It sucks when your little jelly bean is sick, but when you’re both sick at the same time its even worse. As for feeling like the lowest form of “crap”, girl we know you loved that little cutie before she was even a thought on your mind. Her first giggle said mommy it’s okay. We’re going to be okay. (((hugs)))

  2. Let me continue that…hit enter too soon. LOL

    Jordan went down the basement stairs in his walker at 9 months old. Hit the bottom step, bounced, flew OUT of the walker and landed on hard cement floor. I was convinced he was dead, I picked up up and he laughed at me, like “Whew, that was some ride!” Still took him to the ER, he was fine.

    We *all* do it. Don’t be hard on yourself!

  3. Oh bless your heart and hers. I hope by now she’s feeling better from the ear infections. As for her falling…be gentle to yourself. Accidents happen mama. I was babysitting my baby cousin and I let him (accidentally, of course) fall of the bad onto the wood floors. I felt terrible and he wasn’t even mine! But he was okay and she is too.

Leave a Notion!

