Damn.

Standard

I was contacted last week about an opportunity about 2 hours away. The opportunity? A dream come true – a solid HR Generalist position, with a 20,000-25,000 salary increase, and a relocation package. Same industry, same HR department set-up, same business operation set-up. It would have fit me and my dreams and my debt like a glove. The issue? The commute for my husband would be a solid 2 hours each way. Beefcake and I spent the whole weekend figuring out ways that it would be feasible…maybe we could live an hour away from the workplace – that way the commute would be about an hour for each….what about daycare? What about if I moved up there and saw my husband on weekends? No way…it’s not the type of arrangement that would works for us. We can’t sell our home because its value has declined. So then we’d have to rent it out…and rent by my new job. I don’t see the way it could work out.

I’m crushed. Just crushed. They want to meet me after a phone interview last week.  I’ll have to call up later this morning and decline.  Instead, I get to stay here in my current job and watch as training, resources and opportunities are given to my bosses dream team of generalists here. She just can’t see past them…can’t see the potential I have.

I’m trying to stay positive…I am so grateful to be employed in the field i’m passionate about…but damn it!

About Jessica Emilia

Mother, wife, grief survivor, dancer, yogi, feminine, baker, cook, lover, fighter, perfectly imperfect, optimistic, pessimistic, reader, writer, funny, sarcastic, compassionate, emphatic, sympatheric, HR Pro, anxious, confident, supernatural, hocus-pocus, friend, daughter and momma again...

Leave a Notion!

