Balance

Standard

There is balance in the chaos of things. I have finally recognized this. Two dear friends are going through turmoil in their personal lives – they are seeing the ends of their unions whether through an outright request for divorce or through a gradual breakdown of a relationship.

Where is the balance? Well, when I was going through the worst of my grief they were there – every bitter step of the way. One friend would call me constantly on the phone and would invite us over for tasty meals and for quiet companionship. The other subdued her own joys after the birth of her daughter in the midst of the death of mine. Her and her companion would take us out to eat or would drop-by because ‘they just happened to be in the neighborhood’. They would not take no for answer and off we would go for ice-cream or to a diner for some late-night dessert.

They didn’t give up on me when I had no strength and no will to live. Even in the chaos of life, this is the balance I speak of – now I am stronger and able to withstand and support their pain. Only now, can I offer my shoulders for them to lean on.

I love you ladies. You are my true and blue friends.

About Jessica Emilia

Mother, wife, grief survivor, dancer, yogi, feminine, baker, cook, lover, fighter, perfectly imperfect, optimistic, pessimistic, reader, writer, funny, sarcastic, compassionate, emphatic, sympatheric, HR Pro, anxious, confident, supernatural, hocus-pocus, friend, daughter and momma again...

One response »

  1. Too true! It is only in the midst of extreme situations that we get to learn who our true friends are. True friends are the ones that run towards you when everyone else is running away!

Leave a Notion!

