Didn’t See it Comming!

Standard

I had my review at work last week and it went well. Very well. My boss and I really put it all out there on the table. We talked about false perceptions, how others may have contributed to those perceptions, we talked about missed opportunities to build a solid working relationship and we talked about the present. She said she had trouble putting my review together only because things are going so well now and she does not want to go to the past – but is necessary. I told her that I viewed it as necessary closure, in order to truly be in ‘the now’ and to be able to look toward the future.

There was a lot of work that I did because I like a job well done, not because I was looking for credit or attention. But she somehow knew of it – and that we very rewarding. We discussed growth and goals for this year and just before the review ended she gave me a small raise – that will be effective as of last year before I left for my maternity leave. What’s better? It will be paid the difference retroactively as of last May, so I will see a nice bump in my next check. What’s even better? I am eligible for another raise this May… All this time I really felt like she did not know all the work I did and she in fact did. She apologized for missed opportunities but is very optimistic about the future and so am I!

About Jessica Emilia

Mother, wife, grief survivor, dancer, yogi, feminine, baker, cook, lover, fighter, perfectly imperfect, optimistic, pessimistic, reader, writer, funny, sarcastic, compassionate, emphatic, sympatheric, HR Pro, anxious, confident, supernatural, hocus-pocus, friend, daughter and momma again...

One response »

Leave a Notion!

