A Visit to the Twilight Zone & Ziggy’s First Fever

Standard

The twilight zone was in effect the day I returned to work.  My boss greeted me with a warm embrace and as I was making myself at home in the reception area she told me not to get too settled.  I looked at her curiously as she told me that she switched my location to another building.  I am no longer handling reception.  Yay!!!

She has really put her best foot forward and is involving me more in the department dealings.  I don’t know if our last conversation before my leave did it or maybe in my absence she realized all the work that I do and that I am a point person that our staff uses as a resource…but something changed.  She set up the office of an executive that has transferred as a place where I can express breast milk and covered up the window openings of his door with fabric.  It has been a very smooth transition back to work and all the “welcome back!” and “we missed you!” doesn’t hurt!

On another note Ziggy has experienced her first fever and was very congested but is now doing better.  She cried and was notably uncomfortable for 2 days.  What are the odds that she would get sick the very week I return to work?  But thank goodness she is much better, because it was truly heart-breaking to see her in discomfort.  I was ready to take her to the emergency room but my husband must have a few more brain cells then I because he thought it wise to call the 24-hour nurse’s line.  She suggested we run the bath to create steam and get her a saline solution.  While my husband went to get her medicine I sat in the bathroom holding Ziggy, cleaning her nose and sweating something awful in our bathroom-now turned sauna at about 2am. 

I didn’t realize how much her smiles really meant to me until she finally shot me one when she found releif in our ‘sauna’.  I just love this kid, I can’t picture a life without her.

About Jessica Emilia

Mother, wife, grief survivor, dancer, yogi, feminine, baker, cook, lover, fighter, perfectly imperfect, optimistic, pessimistic, reader, writer, funny, sarcastic, compassionate, emphatic, sympatheric, HR Pro, anxious, confident, supernatural, hocus-pocus, friend, daughter and momma again...

3 responses »

  1. I am so happy that the latest step in your life went smoothly. The cold was probably meant for you to understand that she still needs you even when you work. She knew you needed to know that.

  2. I’m so glad you had that kind of welcome when you returned to work. That is wonderful for you and I think it’s about time they recognized all you do.

    Hope Zig is better by now.

Leave a Notion!

