Mazel Tov!!!

Standard

I had the pleasure of going to a Jewish wedding last week.  There just happened to be 2 grooms under the chupp.a (sp?) instead of a bride and groom.   One of the grooms used to work with my husband.  I saw the tears in their eyes and I saw the glow of their hearts and love.  The female rabbi spoke about the realities of discrimination, she spoke of how their love will not be honored by some due to intolerance and ignorance.

I wonder to myself who has the right to intervene and say their love is not appropriate?  Who can say what is right and what is wrong — as if they have it all figured out?

While the vows were being recited and while the traditional 7 wedding blessings were shared my husband wrapped his arm around me tightly and we held hands.  It reminded me of my own blessing.

I was truly happy with him in that moment – I felt wholly complete.  Complete like I have not felt in all too long.  It was just a beautiuful moment to be in the midst of so much love and acceptance.

Gush session over.

Now I will go back to bed and nurse this TERRIBLE flu that caused me to leave work early.

About Jessica Emilia

Mother, wife, grief survivor, dancer, yogi, feminine, baker, cook, lover, fighter, perfectly imperfect, optimistic, pessimistic, reader, writer, funny, sarcastic, compassionate, emphatic, sympatheric, HR Pro, anxious, confident, supernatural, hocus-pocus, friend, daughter and momma again...

2 responses »

Leave a Notion!

