Ohio

Standard

Last Friday after work, the husband and I climbed into Big Sexy’s and Mr. Diplomat’s car and we were off…9 hours later (5:30am Saturday) we were in Ohio.  The trip was about 2 hours longer than expected – we were tired and ragged when we arrived and just a little cranky.  

Big Sexy goes to Ohio every May to plant flowers in the graves of  her loved ones.  It was almost theraputic to help her plant the flowers by their graves.  My friend has been nothing, nothing, nothing but good to me with my losses.  She has had such grace, consideration and compassion and to have been able to accompany her on this trip was in someway a ‘thank you’ for always being there for me.  Also – there was something very appropriate about being by graves during Daniella’s ‘loss’ week.

We drove by places that were special to her…homes where she lived…the place where she married her ex husband…the place where she worked…her favorite lake as a child.  We met some of her dear friends.   Speaking of friends – one of them is a drag queen, and I mean a fabulous one at that.  I could not beleive that the strong tall handsome man that I met Saturday afternoon was the stunning QUEEN singing and dancing her heart on a stage later that night.

I had so much fun at that drag party!  I drank way too much too!  We were just singing and dancing right by the stage.  I had never attended a show like this before.  There were about 6 or 7 queens, and they all changed outfits and peformed different sets.  I am hooked now!  Where is the next party?

We were only there for the weekend – but filled it with a lot of fun, partying and food.  Right now, I am slowly packing for my trip down to Georgia – luckily this trip will be longer than a weekend.  My flight is this Friday at 5am (ouch!).   Although i’ll miss my husband, I can’t wait to hug my brother, mom and grandmother!

About Jessica Emilia

Mother, wife, grief survivor, dancer, yogi, feminine, baker, cook, lover, fighter, perfectly imperfect, optimistic, pessimistic, reader, writer, funny, sarcastic, compassionate, emphatic, sympatheric, HR Pro, anxious, confident, supernatural, hocus-pocus, friend, daughter and momma again...

6 responses »

  1. I’m so glad you had a good weekend with Big Sexy. And that it was therapuetic for you. What an awesome friend she is to make sure you were just as taken care of this weekend as her family was.

    All of my close friends are gay men. I have been to soooo many drag shows and gay clubs. And really – they’re way more fun than a regular club or bar. Tons more fun.

    If you ever venture near Knoxville, TN, let me know. I’d be honored to take you to one 🙂

  2. So glad to hear that you had a good weekend. You have found a beautiful friend to have by your side.

    It’s makes the journey a little less painful when you have wonderful friends standing beside you to hold your hand.

    Sending you love and ((hugs))


    Tarah

  3. Sounds like you had a fabulous time! And what a special way to honor those loved ones. You’re blessed to have eachother.

    Have a great and safe weekend with your family.

    Lots of love my dear,
    Monica

  4. Ugh, I can’t believe I missed you this trip! Oh well, hopefully you’ll come back soon. I’m headed to Vegas tomorrow for 5 days…so here’s to safe travels for us both and a rockin good time!

  5. Hey There..J has been so kind to allow me to sneek a peek into her thoughts here..
    We had an awesome time in Ohio even though I felt like it took oh so long to get there and get back it was great..It was very very very oh and did I say VERY important to me to make this weekend a great one.I wanted to somehow try and ease the pain of the anniversary of Daniella’s passing anyway I could..anything I could do to try and keep my best bud as up beat as I could..Jessica meens the world to me and her losses have just
    torn my heart to pieces…
    When we returned home from Ohio I called My friend that did the show and thanked him and explained that this was a very sensitive week and he just broke down and with tears in his voice was thankful that he could do something positive to try and make Jessica smile..
    She helps me heal as well..I lost my best friend a few years back..we called each other bud,Ive never wanted to call anyone else bud,except now that I have this awesome new best friend I call her bud

    Love you a whole lot BUD….

Leave a Notion!

