I THOUGHT SO!

Standard

I got my job back, sort of…but ‘sort of’ in this case is actually good.  Here goes.  I emailed my boss my medical clearance and gave her time to ‘sort’ things out.   A week later after not hearing from her, I sent her one last email.  No response.  This is what I sent the VP of the company (hehe):

Dear VP,

 I a.m escal.ating an ongoing issu.e to you in hopes that you can a.ssist my boss dumb ass boss that knows shit about laws with m.y return to work.  From the onset of my d.isab.ility due to pre.gna.ncy complications, I have been in constant contact with the HR Dept.  On May 13th, I informed my dumb ass boss that I could return to work at the end of June (June 30th or earlier).  About a week shy of my retu.rn I was informed that my position had been filled.  I am having trouble understanding why this has taken place, as I am the member of th.e hu.man resources department with the most longevity and at least one of the present members of the department is a temporary worker.  I am also aware of other workers that have had d.isabilities return to their respective positions without issue.  Why am I being trea.ted dif.ferently from other employees if my disability has been thoroughly documented?  As requested, I have provided my dumb ass boss not only with my disability certificate but with a full week of time for her to work things out on her end.  She is yet to make me aware of my status.

As th.e VP of Operat.ions, I am hoping you can assist both dumb boss and I sort out this situation in an amicable and timely manner, as I have been waiting for her re.sponse for a full week.  I took the liberty of including others in this email as dumb b.oss informed me of her need to discuss this situation with other members of management when we last spoke.

At this time I am exploring my legal options. (I’M SURE THIS GOT THEIR ATTENTION).

I look forward to your reply and a possible resolution.

Jaded Me

Long story short the VP emailed me that dumb boss, he and the president of the company got together to discuss my return to active duty and that she would be calling with an update.  And she did.  And I relished it, because I’m sure she was not only embarassed but she also felt like a fool.  And I did NOT go easy on her either.  She tried to say that she needed time, to which I answered that it was not right to have me wait so long.  When she tried to argue that point I cut her off by saying:  Well I guess that things move quicker when you involve the VP.  Ohhh!  Take that!

Anway,  she offered me a modified position doing training rather than recruitment and benefits.  I’m actually delighted.  Recruiting is exciting, but where I work it is a thankless job.  As you may imagine we have a high turnover.  When I originally went on disability, I was currently juggling 11 positions.  Recruiters usually work on 3-4 exclusively, while I was doing all that and benefits and employee relations.   At the time I was the only member of HR that spoke S.panish.  Also, the positon of Training Adminsitrator will help to further diversify my resume and I won’t be seeing her as often.  I was moved to the other side of the building (i’m sure she had a lot to do with it).  Haha!  I will still be working with her, but not seeing her as often.  Yes!

 As Traini.ning Ad.ministrator I will essentially train all members of the company on our SOP’s (Standard Operating Procedures), as well as GMP (Goo.d Manufacturing Pr.actices-I work at a Pha.ramceuti.cal F.irm).  I will be intimately involved with implementation of the program.  I will perform trainings in En.glish and Sp.anish.  I’m really looking forward to this, as I need a new challenge, and this will most certainly be one. 

In a small way I actually thank my idiot boss, had it not been for her, I probably would have spent that last few weeks moping around hoping to die.  Instead she kept me on my toes and sharp, and has just aided me emotionaly and professionally with a new challenge. 

The saying goes: THE TRAPS WE SET FOR OTHERS, WE FALL INTO OURSELVES.

Those fuckers…I swear…

About Jessica Emilia

Mother, wife, grief survivor, dancer, yogi, feminine, baker, cook, lover, fighter, perfectly imperfect, optimistic, pessimistic, reader, writer, funny, sarcastic, compassionate, emphatic, sympatheric, HR Pro, anxious, confident, supernatural, hocus-pocus, friend, daughter and momma again...

4 responses »

  1. Well I’m glad you got your job back- or a job anyway. Serves them right! I’m glad you stood up for yourself. You shoould have contacted your lawyer anyway, just for shits and giggles.

  2. I love your letter and part of me really wished that in the letter you’d referred to your boss as dumb ass boss. That would have been funny.

    I’m glad this has got resolved and I’m glad in a weird way that actually your job will be better as a result of all this.

    Next time I have a dispute with someone I’m coming to you for the letter writing xxx

Leave a Notion!

