Welcome Reprieve

Standard

Last Friday night I picked up my husband from the train station and surprised him.  I offered that we go to the city for drinks.  We did just that and went to a great placed called The Park.  The ambiance is beautiful and romantic, coupled with drinks and great music, it was a welcome break.  We dined in an outdoor garden and loved it.  Next we went wallking and ended up smoking flavored tabacco at a Middle Eastern spot with an Ancient Egypt feel.  Too bad I can’t recall the name.

The weekend was very hot (we were issued a heat wave advisory) so we tried to get out but succumbed to air condidtioned enviornments.  We headed to Princeton for icre cream and a very very quick walk.  It was hot as a mofo.  We bought a few things for the home…curtains (last time I let him pick), blender for some ice cold margaritas and other items.

That night in bed he asked why it has been so long since we had so much fun.  We need to get out more.  My response?  Well, thet last year and half I have been either tired, queasy and pregnant or grieving.  What changed he asked, who’s whispering in your ear and telling you to be happy.

“Maybe they are”, I tell him.  He smiles.  I smile.

About Jessica Emilia

Mother, wife, grief survivor, dancer, yogi, feminine, baker, cook, lover, fighter, perfectly imperfect, optimistic, pessimistic, reader, writer, funny, sarcastic, compassionate, emphatic, sympatheric, HR Pro, anxious, confident, supernatural, hocus-pocus, friend, daughter and momma again...

9 responses »

  1. That sounds like such a good evening. I’m so glad you got to go out and have fun and spend time with your husband. I hope you get to have a few more evenings like this. Its such hard work grieving and coping with so much worry and stress.
    I’m also intrigued as to the curtains your husband originally chose. I don’t let S make those decisions, if I did we’d be living in a land of non-matching primary colours. Not good.

  2. Sounds like a lovely weekend. I am glad you were able to enjoy yourselves. And I like to think that your girls are wanting you to be happy.

  3. Sounds like a great day with DH…except for the heat. How nice to end the night talking with DH and dreaming of your babies.

  4. They do whisper in ears. ((((((((((hugs))))))))))

    I’m glad you had a respite from grieving for a bit. It helps. It sounds like a wonderful time with DH. My DH and I would do a lot of late night walking together. Don’t know where I’d be without him!

  5. I loved your comment about them whispering in your ear — so sweet! I hope they are all watching over us, helping us heal.

Leave a Notion!

